farro, cherry & walnut salad


Farro, Cherry & Walnut salad close up

Summer is here and the calendar is already populated with BBQ’s so I’m always looking for an addition to the table that I will know will be unique in the sea of potato and pasta options. It also helps me rest assured when salads are not dairy or mayo based that they can withstand the heat and time out. It certainly doesn’t hurt that this has got bright, beautiful colors that make for a really appetizing dish as well.

Farro is a grain that maybe you haven’t worked with. I’m lucky to have a couple stores that carry it in bulk and it’s become a staple in my pantry as part of my plight to eat whole, clean foods. It cooks up quickly (around 15 minutes ) and has got a really nice nutty flavor and a slightly chewy texture that adds another dimension to the recipe.

As with many grain-based salads, I look at this as a template. With so many delicious summer fruits, I am already planning other combinations – maybe apricots and pecans or blueberries and almonds. Good thing I have a whole summer ahead to experiment to find my favorite combination!

Farro, Cherry & Walnut Salad

From Cooking Light
Serves 8

5 cups water
1 1/2 cups uncooked farro
1/2 tsp salt, divided
3/4 pound sweet cherries, pitted and halved (about 2 cups)
2/3 cup diced celery
1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts, toasted
1/4 cup packed fresh flat-leaf parsley leaves
2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 Tbsp whole-grain Dijon mustard
1 Tbsp honey
1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1/4 tsp salt
3 Tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

Bring 5 cups water to a boil in a large saucepan. Add farro and 1/4 teaspoon salt to boiling water; cook 15 minutes or until al dente. Drain; cool at room temperature 15 minutes. Combine farro, cherries, celery, walnuts, and parsley in a large bowl.

Combine lemon juice, mustard, honey, pepper, salt and remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt, stirring with a whisk. Gradually add oil, stirring constantly with a whisk. Pour dressing over farro mixture; toss to coat.

Farro, Cherry & Walnut Salad

About bistroonesix

I have an interest in all things food and am lucky enough to be surrounded by people that share this same passion. There’s never a shortage of inspiration or partners in collaboration. Some of my happiest memories involve big tables covered with food, plenty of wine, and extra chairs pulled up to accommodate all the friends and family. If I can help facilitate these kinds of evenings, well then I’d say this is a great hobby to have. I live in Boise, Idaho with my husband and 2 adorable cats.

Leave a comment