diy ginger beer


Apparently I’m on a fermentation kick. My last post was on homemade sauerkraut for those homemade bratwursts my hubbie had made and what else is a crucial part of summer? Well, for me, that would be an icy cold Dark & Stormy. Like I also mentioned in my last post, I’m seeing what things I can make from scratch vs. buying and I’m not sure I would have even though of making my own ginger beer until this article from Food Republic showed up in my Facebook feed. I tried to make it their way…in fact, I’m STILL trying with a “bug” that I am feeding every day. But while I am waiting I was getting thirstier and thirstier for ginger beer so had to find an alternative which is when I found this recipe on Tori Avey’s website that uses regular baking yeast to speed up the process. I will have to say that this is also an economical solution as good quality ginger beer comes at a price. Plus, when you make it at home you know it’s made with pure ingredients – no corn syrup, artificial flavors or colors – so ya gotta like that. Almost as much as I like that Dark & Stormy.

Homemade Ginger Beer
Makes one 2-liter bottle

Ingredients:

For the ginger syrup:
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup water
4 Tbsp fresh ginger, grated (you can adjust this based on how ginger-y you want it)

For the ginger beer:
7 cups filtered water
1/8 tsp active dry yeast (like what you make bread with)
Ginger syrup (above)
3 Tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice

Clean 2-liter plastic soda bottle
Funnel is helpful too

Directions:

For the ginger syrup:
Place the sugar, water and grated finer in a saucepan over medium heat, stirring until the sugar is dissolved. Turn off the heat and let the mixture steep for an hour.
Strain the mixture (I’m still trying to figure out something yummy to do with these sugar-soaked ginger shards) and allow to cool.

For the ginger beer:
Add water to clean 2-liter pop bottle. Sprinkle in the yeast and add the ginger syrup and lemon juice.
Put the lid on the bottle and shake until the yeast is dissolved. Stow it out of direct sunlight for 2-3 days or until fizz is achieved. At this point it’s ready to drink or can be stored in the refrigerator to slow down the fermentation. If you’re not going to drink it right away, open the cap every couple days to release any extra carbonation. Drink within 2 weeks.

If you like your ginger beer very fermented-tasting, you can leave it as is for a few days before bottling. If you prefer a fresher-tasting soda, bottle it as soon as it is bubbly by placing a funnel in a two-liter soda bottle and pouring ginger beer through. Cap tightly and leave at room temperature until carbonated, anywhere from 1-3 days: you will know when soda is carbonated when the plastic bottle resists squeezing. Once carbonated, refrigerate ginger beer and drink within two weeks. As it sits a sediment will form in the bottom which can be strained out before serving if you like.

Dark & Stormy

About bistroonesix

I have an interest in all things food and am lucky enough to be surrounded by people that share this same passion. There’s never a shortage of inspiration or partners in collaboration. Some of my happiest memories involve big tables covered with food, plenty of wine, and extra chairs pulled up to accommodate all the friends and family. If I can help facilitate these kinds of evenings, well then I’d say this is a great hobby to have. I live in Boise, Idaho with my husband and 2 adorable cats.

2 comments

  1. Thank you for the beautiful recipe…as kids we used to make barrelfulls of GB and you have now re-ignited my childhood passion!

Leave a comment