cha-cha-cha-chia


Fine Cooking magazine runs a segment on what to do when you have succumbed to the lure of the club store and are now left contemplating a five pound bag of Brussels sprouts or vat of olives. But where are they now that I need them with my monster package of chia seeds? I hardly knew what to do with a tablespoon of this latest super food let alone a package that is so big that it needs to be resealable. I had started to dabble in chia seeds, purchasing them in very small quantities at very large prices at the health food store so I know that the lure of the cost savings drove this mass purchase. But then I got home with them and the bag sat on the counter for days, taunting me. I asked for advice on my Facebook page and got some suggestions but I was looking for something different. My husband, ever so helpful, suggested multiple chia pets.

I’d love to give credit where credit is due but I truly don’t remember where I found the inspiration for this chia pudding. It’s done the trick though – a delicious, versatile way to put a dent in my Costco-sized bag of chia seeds.

Chia pudding 1

Chia Pudding
5 servings

1 can light coconut milk
1 cup milk or milk substitute (I like unsweetened vanilla almond)
1/2 cup chia seeds
1 tsp vanilla extra
1 tsp agave nectar, or to taste

Mix all in a medium sized bowl and either let sit to expand and become more pudding-like or if you’re not going to eat it right away, I divide mine between 5 small plastic containers and keep them in the fridge for whenever I need a quick breakfast or snack.

But the best part is this is just the foundation. Now comes the fun part – customize it to your tastes! I’ve added a tablespoon of almond butter and topped with some toasted nuts. I think a ripe banana stirred in is divine. Have a chocolate tooth to satisfy? Stir in a little cocoa power and garnish with cocoa nibs. Or sometimes a few really ripe blackberries is all that it takes.

If you have a favorite way to use chia seeds, I’d love to hear about it as I still have plenty to go around – even with the herd of chia pets.

Chia pudding 2

 

About bistroonesix

I have an interest in all things food and am lucky enough to be surrounded by people that share this same passion. There’s never a shortage of inspiration or partners in collaboration. Some of my happiest memories involve big tables covered with food, plenty of wine, and extra chairs pulled up to accommodate all the friends and family. If I can help facilitate these kinds of evenings, well then I’d say this is a great hobby to have. I live in Boise, Idaho with my husband and 2 adorable cats.

Leave a Reply

