day 14 – all cleansed!


I did it! I’m all cleansed! Now that wasn’t so bad, was it?

Things I learned?

• Cook with all kinds of different grains. They are sooooo much more interesting than plain ol’ rice.
• Try something new from the produce section. For me it was sunchokes.
• And while you’re in the produce section, fill that shopping cart up! A lot of variety makes it more interesting.
• Delicious food doesn’t have to be full of bacon, butter and cream. Let’s be clear – I’m not giving up all these things, but I have a fresh perspective (which I’m guessing was sort of the point). Food that is good for you can be just as amazing.
• I could eat one of these salads everyday for lunch. And I probably should.
• Spices and fresh herbs are your friends.
• I like coconut water more than I thought – especially when it’s mixed with vodka!
• Spend a little more on quality ingredients. It’s still less expensive, and healthier, than going out to eat.
• I did lose a couple pounds but that could probably be almost entirely attributed to give up my nightly glass of wine (or two). I do perhaps feel a little less stuffy though.
• Because there was a new menu everyday, I learned to buy less at the store. Make less. Consequently throw away less. That might have been one of the biggest lessons.
• It’s easy to get in a rut – I ate yogurt with fruit for breakfast almost everyday before this eating experiment. Now I realize how many other choices there are that come together fast and make breakfast time that much more fun.
• It takes a lot of time to cook three meals + write a blog about it every day. I’m so glad to have the chronicle but happy this isn’t a daily thing going forward.
• Mainly thanks to all of you that followed me along on this journey. I hope you’ve enjoyed it as much as I have. Here’s to a great start to 2014!

Notes from today:

• To see original recipes from Bon Appétit, click on the link for the recipe in the titles below. Any changes I’ve made are reflected in the recipes below.
• I make my own yogurt. It’s easy and then I know there’s no added sugar. A little tart? Yeah… but you get used to it and then you can never go back to the sugary supermarket varieties.

BREAKFAST

Pomegranate-Apple Salad with Greek Yogurt

Pomegranate-Apple Salad with Greek Yogurt
Serves 1

1 Tbsp sliced almonds
1/2 cup plain low-fat Greek yogurt
1 tsp honey (optional)
1 apple, cored, sliced
2 Tbsp pomegranate seeds

Preheat oven to 350°F. Toast almonds on a small rimmed baking sheet, stirring occasionally, until golden brown, about 4 minutes. Let cool.

Mix yogurt with honey, if using. Top with apple, pomegranate seeds, and almonds.

LUNCH

Coconut Rice, Tofu and Kale Salad

Coconut Rice, Tofu and Kale Salad
Serves 1

1/2 cup leftover Black Rice with Coconut
3 oz leftover Tofu
2 cups shredded Tuscan kale
2 Tbsp Sesame-Miso Vinaigrette
2 Tbsp Spiced Peita and Cashew Crunch

Toss together rice, tofu, kale, and sesame dressing in a medium bowl. Top with Spiced Pepita and Cashew Crunch.

DINNER

Pan-Roasted Salmon with Grapefruit-Cabbage Slaw

Pan-Roasted Salmon with Grapefruit-Cabbage Slaw
Serves 4

2 oranges, peel and pith removed, cut into segments
1 small shallot, finely chopped
2 Tbsp orange juice
5 4-oz. salmon fillets, preferably wild, skin on, pin bones removed
Kosher salt, freshly ground black pepper
2 Tbsp olive oil, divided
2 Tbsp plain low-fat Greek yogurt
1/2 avocado, cut in ½” dice
1/2 savoy cabbage, cored, very thinly sliced
Cilantro leaves (for serving)

Combine shallot and orange juice in a small bowl; set aside.

Score the skin side of salmon and season all over with salt and pepper.

Heat 1 Tbsp. oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Place salmon skin side down in skillet. Cook until skin is browned and crisp, about 5 minutes. Flip fillets, reduce heat to medium, and cook until fish is barely opaque at the center of each fillet, about 4 more minutes; set aside.

Whisk together orange juice–shallot mixture, yogurt, and remaining 1 Tbsp. oil in a large bowl. Add orange segments, avocado, and cabbage and toss to combine; season with salt and pepper. Serve salmon with orange-cabbage slaw, topped with cilantro.

Refried Black Beans
Serves 4

2 Tbsp vegetable oil
2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
2 jalapeños, seeded, finely chopped
2 cans (15 oz.) black beans, rinsed
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
Kosher salt, freshly ground black pepper

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add garlic and jalapeños and cook, stirring, until fragrant. Add beans, cumin, and ½ cup water; season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring, and mashing with the back of a wooden spoon, until beans take on a creamy texture, about 3 minutes, adding more water if desired for a creamier consistency.

About bistroonesix

I have an interest in all things food and am lucky enough to be surrounded by people that share this same passion. There’s never a shortage of inspiration or partners in collaboration. Some of my happiest memories involve big tables covered with food, plenty of wine, and extra chairs pulled up to accommodate all the friends and family. If I can help facilitate these kinds of evenings, well then I’d say this is a great hobby to have. I live in Boise, Idaho with my husband and 2 adorable cats.

Leave a Reply

