dessert on the cleanse


When I make dessert it’s usually a special occasion and I attack it with gusto – figuring that anything that is going to impress is probably going to take a couple days to make and there’s most likely a lot of butter, sugar, eggs or chocolate involved. Or all of the above.

So when the Bon Appétit Food Lover’s Cleanse, called this “dessert” I sort of scoffed. This isn’t dessert. Where’s the whipped cream? Or the tuiles? Or custard?

But let’s face it – when I’m on a cleanse, I’m open to whatever is being touted as dessert since I didn’t seem to find crème brûlée listed anywhere in these two weeks. And I don’t think it’s just because I’m sugar deprived that one bite won me over. Super refreshing. Light. Flavorful. And I didn’t have to hang my head in shame after I ate it. This could forge a whole new relationship with dessert for me … well, unless crème brûlée is an option!

Citrus Salad on Mango Coulis with Cacao Nibs and Toasted Almonds

Citrus Salad on Mango Coulis with Cacao Nibs and Toasted Almonds
Serves 4

4 tsp slivered almonds
2 blood oranges
1 Cara Cara orange
1 navel orange
2 tangerines or satsuma mandarins
2 ripe mangos, peeled, cut into ¾” dice
1 Tbsp fresh lime juice
1/2 tsp cacao nibs

Preheat oven to 350°F. Toast almonds on a small rimmed baking sheet, stirring occasionally, until golden brown, about 4 minutes. Let cool.

Using a sharp knife, remove peel and pith from blood oranges, Cara Cara orange, navel orange, and tangerines. Working over a bowl, cut between the membranes to release segments into bowl; reserve juice.

Puree half the mango, the lime juice, and 1 cup reserved citrus juice in a blender until smooth.

Gently toss citrus segments with remaining diced mango.

Top mango puree with cut-up fruit. Sprinkle with cacao nibs and toasted almonds.

About bistroonesix

I have an interest in all things food and am lucky enough to be surrounded by people that share this same passion. There’s never a shortage of inspiration or partners in collaboration. Some of my happiest memories involve big tables covered with food, plenty of wine, and extra chairs pulled up to accommodate all the friends and family. If I can help facilitate these kinds of evenings, well then I’d say this is a great hobby to have. I live in Boise, Idaho with my husband and 2 adorable cats.

Leave a Reply

