delicious day 2


Day 2 full steam ahead!

Today I was at a photo studio art directing package photography for a client. The photographer and food stylist are great and they photograph a lot of food but the studio could easily be the pitfall of any eating plan – there is always something delicious lingering there. To arm myself, I showed up with my breakfast (I’m not an early morning eater. I prefer to eat around 10:00) and my lunch in tow and begged them to keep all the really good stuff out of my site. I couldn’t eat all my lunch salad I was so full and so far I feel great although when I was at the gym this afternoon I have to admit that I was feeling pretty lightheaded at one point. I’m sure it’s just my body a bit confused by the changes. 

Notes from today:
• To see original recipes from Bon Appétit, click on the link for the recipe in the titles below. Any changes I’ve made are reflected in the recipes below.
• No snack on the list today but I added a glass of coconut water when I got home from the gym.
• Drink wise, also continuing to have my usual latté made with almond milk each morning.
• This breakfast recipe was much more exciting that it sounds!
• On this cleanse, it’s recommended that you not have more that 4 cocktails/beer/wine a week. This may prove to be a struggle as I’m used to at least one glass of wine, often 2, a night. And to add more temptation, we have a birthday party to go to tonight!

See you tomorrow for day #3!

BREAKFAST

Avocado on Rye Crackers with Smoked Salmon

Avocado on Rye Crackers with Smoked Salmon
Serves 1

3-4 thin rye crackers
1/3 avocado, thinly sliced
1 oz smoked salmon
Kosher salt, freshly ground black pepper
Lemon wedges (for serving)

Top rye crackers with avocado and salmon. Season with salt and pepper and serve with lemon wedges.

LUNCH

Quinoa & Roasted Vegetable Salad

Quinoa & Roasted Vegetable Salad
Serves 1

1 cup leftover Roasted Beets, Carrots, and Jerusalem Artichokes with Lemon
1/2 cup leftover Quinoa with Walnuts and Shallots
4 cups tender salad greens such as spinach, arugula, or baby kale
2 Tbsp Whole Grain Mustard Dressing
Kosher salt, freshly ground black pepper

Toss roasted vegetables, quinoa, and greens with mustard dressing in a large bowl. Season with salt and pepper.

DINNER

Pan-Roasted Chicken with Red Pepper-Walnut Spread

Pan-Roasted Chicken with Red Pepper-Walnut Spread
Serves 4

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 2½ lb.)
Kosher salt, freshly ground black pepper
2 tsp olive oil
1 tsp fresh thyme leaves
1 small garlic clove, grated
1/2 cup Red Pepper–Walnut Spread

Preheat oven to 425°F. Season chicken with salt and pepper. Heat oil in an ovenproof skillet over medium-high heat. Place chicken skin side down in skillet and cook until golden brown, about 5 minutes. Turn chicken over and brown other side. Add thyme and garlic to pan and place in oven. Roast until an instant-read thermometer inserted in thickest part of breast registers 165°, 15–20 minutes.

To serve, slice chicken reserving 4 oz. for Chicken, Cabbage, and Tangerine Salad. Serve pan-roasted chicken with red pepper spread.

White Bean Salad with Pomegranate & Parsley
Serves 4

1 15-oz. can cannellini (white kidney) beans, rinsed (or 1¾ cups cooked beans)
1/3 cup pomegranate seeds
Zest from lemon
1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 Tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
1/4 cup thinly sliced scallions, whites and pale greens only, cut on a diagonal
2 Tbsp chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley leaves
1/2 tsp kosher salt, plus more to taste
1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper

Toss beans, pomegranate seeds, lemon zest and juice, oil, scallions, parsley, and ½ tsp. salt together in a medium bowl; season with salt and pepper.

SNACK

Coconut, Pistachio, and Cacao Chocolate Bark

Coconut, Nut, and Cacao Chocolate Bark
Makes eight 1 ounce servings

8 oz bittersweet chocolate (at least 70% cacao), chopped
1/4 cup unsweetened flaked organic coconut
1 Tbsp chopped roasted pistachios
2 Tbsp chopped roasted hazelnuts
1 1/2 Tbsp cacao nibs
Pinch of flaky sea salt

INGREDIENT INFO: Unsweetened flaked organic coconut is available at natural foods and specialty foods stores.

Preheat oven to 350°F. Spread out coconut on a rimmed baking sheet and toast, stirring occasionally, until most flakes are straw-colored, about 4 minutes. Transfer to a plate.

Meanwhile, line a baking sheet with a silicone baking mat or parchment paper. Melt the chocolate in a double boiler or in 30-second intervals in a microwave, stirring between each interval. Spread melted chocolate on baking mat in an even layer about 1/8″ thick. Scatter toasted coconut, nuts, and cacao nibs evenly over chocolate. Sprinkle with flaky sea salt. Let chocolate cool completely, then break into pieces. Bark will keep for about a week stored in a cool place in an airtight container between layers of parchment.

About bistroonesix

I have an interest in all things food and am lucky enough to be surrounded by people that share this same passion. There’s never a shortage of inspiration or partners in collaboration. Some of my happiest memories involve big tables covered with food, plenty of wine, and extra chairs pulled up to accommodate all the friends and family. If I can help facilitate these kinds of evenings, well then I’d say this is a great hobby to have. I live in Boise, Idaho with my husband and 2 adorable cats.

4 comments

  1. Dave

    Hey Linda. I am using some of the recipes as well. I loved the Green Tahini from the other day. I used it with some Garbonzo Bean/Brown Rice patties I was making. Great combo. I think the Tahini will make a great dip for veggie snacks I take to work. I made the complete dinner listed above and loved it. The bean salad was so easy and tasty. I really enjoyed the Red Pepper Relish as well. I know what you mean about the wine. Denise and I are foregoing completely, and that has been sorely missed… Good job and keep it up!!!

    • Thanks Dave! The birthday party we attended last night was Cosmic bowling so I didn’t feel like it was the wine I was missing out on at the bowling alley – it was the big pile of onion rings on our table! But I was strong. 🙂 How were the rice patties? Are you guys feeling a difference?

  2. i went full dry for a month, or 180 lbs, whichever comes first. A nice glass of bourbon is my carrot right now. Brown rice and quinoa with almonds and fried eggs for breakfast. Going to make a ginger brined roast duck with squash salad tonight!

    • Nice! I just had the 2 egg omelet with red-pepper walnut relish (recipe coming later today). I am planning on enjoying one of my four weekly allotment of drinks tonight with a nice glass of red wine!

Leave a Reply

