grilled green beans & peaches with mint


It’s been a hot one in Boise this summer. Days upon days of triple digit heat and as much as I love to cook, that love is trumped by the desire to keep the house, and myself, as cool as possible. This means lots of cold fruit, crisp salads and anything that can be grilled (which is more than you might initially think).

Last blog I wrote about the dilemma of summer picnics and my goal to not show up with a dish someone else might have also brought (think potato salad), so I’m always on the lookout for interesting and unique recipes. When I ran across a pairing in Bon Appetit for grilled green beans and peaches I knew my criteria had been met.

Peaches with grill

Grilled Green Beans with Peaches & Mint
Inspired by a recipe in Bon Appetit
Serves 4

2 peaches, sliced into 1/2″ wedges
1 lb green beans, trimmed and cut into bite size pieces
4 Tbsp olive oil + more for drizzling if desired
1 Tbsp lemon juice
3 or 4 sprigs of mint, chopped or torn
Salt & pepper
3 Tbsp slivered almonds, toasted

Toss peaches with 2 Tbsp of the olive oil, salt and pepper. Place in a grilling basket (you could also grill them directly on the grate if you’re more talented than I at wrangling them so that they don’t fall through). Repeat with the green beans, mixing with the remaining 2 Tbsp of olive oil and seasoning with salt and pepper. I find a grilling pan works great for these.

Beans & peaches on grill

Place on grill over high heat, turning and stirring often, until beans are crisp-tender and peaches are lightly charred, about 8 to 10 minutes. Remove from the heat, combine in a big bowl with lemon juice, mint, and almonds (and maybe just a light drizzle of some really great olive oil if you’re so inclined). Check the seasoning and add more salt & pepper if needed.

Grilled green beans & peaches

The dish was bright and colorful with fresh-from-summer taste. And you can bet, there wasn’t another like it at the picnic!

Bowl of green beans & peaches

About bistroonesix

I have an interest in all things food and am lucky enough to be surrounded by people that share this same passion. There’s never a shortage of inspiration or partners in collaboration. Some of my happiest memories involve big tables covered with food, plenty of wine, and extra chairs pulled up to accommodate all the friends and family. If I can help facilitate these kinds of evenings, well then I’d say this is a great hobby to have. I live in Boise, Idaho with my husband and 2 adorable cats.

Leave a Reply

