a pancake balancing act


Fruit & Nut Pancakes

Poor pancakes. They seem to have a bad wrap for folks dieting or trying to eat healthy. In general I try not to make any sweeping bans on whole categories of food. I’m a firm believer of everything in moderation (including moderation at some times) because I just can’t imagine giving up the joy of a steaming stack of pancakes eaten in comfy clothes with a cup of really good coffee on a relaxed weekend morning.

It’s really just a matter of  finding the right balance of delicious and nutritious. Lucky for me, there’s a few such options in my recipe box (like Quinoa Banana Pancakes) including these Fruit & Nut Pancakes. I made them one cold day over Thanksgiving break when my husband’s teenage daughter was visiting and they were a hit. A few weeks later I went back to make them again and I couldn’t find the recipe anywhere. I torn apart the house looking for the magazine and when I couldn’t locate it, I scoured the internet (because really, can’t everything be found on the web?) but since I couldn’t remember the exact name of the recipe, I was coming up with lots of things that were close, but never an exact match.

Months went by and one day during a deep clean of the kitchen, a photocopied version of the recipe fell out of a book. The first thing that came to mind was that I knew what I was having for breakfast the next day. Closely behind that was that I wanted to do a blog to share the yumminess with all of you of course, but admittedly also so that I would never misplace it again.

Steamy Fruit & Nut Pancakes

Fruit & Nut Pancakes
adapted from recipe in SELF Magazine
Makes eight 5″ pancakes – 4 servings

1 cup whole-wheat flour
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup sliced almonds, crushed walnuts or crushed pecans
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp cinnamon
2 medium bananas
1 cup nonfat or almond milk (more if you prefer a thinner batter)
1 egg
1 tsp almond extract
1 cup mixed berries (frozen or fresh)
Vegetable oil cooking spray

In a bowl, combine first 5 ingredients. Mash bananas in another bowl and mix with milk, egg and almond extract. Pour liquid ingredients into dry ingredients; stir until smooth. Add berries.

Warm a skillet over medium heat; coat with cooking spray. Measure 1⁄4 cup batter; pour onto skillet. Spread the batter out thinly to assure that they cook through. Cook until golden brown, 2 to 3 minutes per side. Repeat until batter is gone.

Per serving (2 pancakes): 330 calories, 8 g fat, 1 g saturated, 57 g carbohydrates, 8 g fiber, 11 g protein

I like to top my pancakes with a dollop of Greek yogurt, a light drizzle of real maple syrup and a few fresh berries.  Delicious and guilt free. Seems like the perfect balance to me!

About bistroonesix

I have an interest in all things food and am lucky enough to be surrounded by people that share this same passion. There’s never a shortage of inspiration or partners in collaboration. Some of my happiest memories involve big tables covered with food, plenty of wine, and extra chairs pulled up to accommodate all the friends and family. If I can help facilitate these kinds of evenings, well then I’d say this is a great hobby to have. I live in Boise, Idaho with my husband and 2 adorable cats.

Leave a Reply

