they grow up so fast


I equate having a garden as being a bit like having kids (albeit this analogy is from someone that has no kids, so you might want to factor that in).

I imagine what it will grow up to be like long before it is ever conceived. I wait anxiously for the first signs of life to pop up in the spring, fussing over the sprouts – trying to give them everything they need for a bright future.

Summer  arrives bringing warmer temperatures and the veggies launch into a major growing spurt, growing like weeds (the weeds subsequently also grow like, well… weeds) and needing less careful monitoring.

By this time each year, the latter part of July into August, the garden is like a teenager – on the brink of being completely out of control. No longer are the rows neat and tidy. They are shaggy and overgrown and unkept. A little wild. Basically running amuck.

But we have a good relationship. I still give it what it needs for basic survival with a little guidance here and there and in turn I enjoy the fruits (or in this case, veggies) of my love and attention.

And sometimes it drives me to drink (ok….maybe that’s not exactly true. It’s more that gardening is just more fun with a glass of wine. Of course, perhaps so is parenting.) but I’m still proud of it… I can’t fault it for being the exact overachiever I dreamed it would be.

And I think that’s pretty much where this analogy ends… unless of course you stuff your kids in the compost bin come fall.

About bistroonesix

I have an interest in all things food and am lucky enough to be surrounded by people that share this same passion. There’s never a shortage of inspiration or partners in collaboration. Some of my happiest memories involve big tables covered with food, plenty of wine, and extra chairs pulled up to accommodate all the friends and family. If I can help facilitate these kinds of evenings, well then I’d say this is a great hobby to have. I live in Boise, Idaho with my husband and 2 adorable cats.

3 comments

  1. Donna Mead

    Linda – That as great! Glad Tara shared it with us. I can’t believe the beautiful veggies you are all getting. We are truly jealous. Of course, we haven’t planted those things and if we did we wouldn’t be “monitoring” it for weeds, bugs, water, etc. Keep up the good work and celebrate with another glass of wine! Donna Mead

  2. lottie darling

    I LOVE YOUR GARDEN AND WISH I COULD SHARE IT WITH YOU.

    LOVE ALWAYS

    TARA’S NANA

Leave a Reply

