blackberry sage fizz


It’s easy to get in a rut. To default to the familiar especially when the familiar is known to be tasty. Thus might be the case in our household with mojitos. They are just so dang refreshing on a hot summer day. But the whole thing with writing a food blog is that I’m always trying to find something new. A different way of looking at things. And a lot of times, it’s really not that hard – especially when I have great ingredients on hand.

It started with a colander of fresh blackberries that I had just got back from picking. My first impulse was the default – a blackberry mojito. But since I just posted about a watermelon mojito that seemed none too original (albeit delicious, I’m sure). Looking for inspiration I took a quick stroll through the garden and found just what I needed to take this to the next level.

Blackberry Sage Fizz
Makes 1

1 generous handful of blackberries
4 to 5 sage leaves, depending on how big they are and how much you like the taste of sage
Juice of a half of lime
1 oz vodka
Tonic (I use diet)

Muddle blackberries and sage in the bottom of a tall glass. If your berries aren’t super ripe, you might consider adding in a touch of sugar. Add lime juice, vodka and tonic along with ice. Also good made by the pitcher, I might add.

I did a quick analysis of this in MyFitnessPal and it came in under 100 calories. Mojito move over… there’s a new cocktail in town!

About bistroonesix

I have an interest in all things food and am lucky enough to be surrounded by people that share this same passion. There’s never a shortage of inspiration or partners in collaboration. Some of my happiest memories involve big tables covered with food, plenty of wine, and extra chairs pulled up to accommodate all the friends and family. If I can help facilitate these kinds of evenings, well then I’d say this is a great hobby to have. I live in Boise, Idaho with my husband and 2 adorable cats.

Leave a Reply

