watermelon mojito


If you’ve ever grown mint, you know that you don’t ever grow a little mint… if it’s not contained, soon it’s popping up all over the place. We just take it as a sign that it’s time to make mojitos.

Normally my husband is the mojito maker in our house but recently I was cutting up a melon to make watermelon rind pickles, it was about cocktail time, and inspiration hit. The watermelon was so sweet it didn’t need any sugar. The lime added a bit of brightness and the tonic brought a nice touch of bubbles.

I know in the heat of summer these refreshing cocktails can go down fast, racking up a whole bunch of calories in a hurry so I ran the numbers in My Fitness Pal and was thrilled to find that it came in just under 100 calories.

Move over hubbie… there’s a new mojito maker in the house!

Watermelon Mojito
Makes 1 serving

1/2 cup watermelon
Fresh mint leaves
1 ounce Bacardi Light Rum
Juice from 1/2 a lime
Diet tonic water

Muddle the watermelon and mint leaves in a glass. Add the rum and a squeeze of lime juice. Stir to mix. Fill glass with ice and top with diet tonic water. Get ready to make another…

About bistroonesix

I have an interest in all things food and am lucky enough to be surrounded by people that share this same passion. There’s never a shortage of inspiration or partners in collaboration. Some of my happiest memories involve big tables covered with food, plenty of wine, and extra chairs pulled up to accommodate all the friends and family. If I can help facilitate these kinds of evenings, well then I’d say this is a great hobby to have. I live in Boise, Idaho with my husband and 2 adorable cats.

One comment

  1. Pingback: blackberry sage fizz « bistro one six

Leave a Reply

