blueberry strawberry pasta salad


Recently I wrote about the graduation Top Chef-esque challenge I had in Traverse City, Michigan for my husband’s daughter’s high school graduation party. She had given me a list of foods that I was attempting to incorporate into the menu, amongst which was fresh fruit and pasta. When in a local grocery store on an ingredient recon mission, I happened to mention the list to the wine manager and he said they had a nice blueberry balsamic that would be great tossed with pasta. That was all the inspiration I needed.

As often is the case, I don’t have exact measurements for this recipe but more of a description of how mine went together to use as a jumping off point for your own creation.

Blueberry Strawberry Pasta Salad

I started by taking a container of blueberries, washed and sorted. Place in a small saucepan, adding enough balsamic vinegar to cover. Stir in lemon zest. Place on low heat to simmer and reduce, mashing the blueberries as they became soft. Cool.

Meanwhile, I cooked a package of capellini pasta – choosing the elegant thin cut for this party atmosphere – to al dente which was basically as soon as it hit the boiling water. Rinse under cold water to stop the cooking and toss with a little olive oil to keep the strands from clumping.

Mix the cooled balsamic reduction with olive oil, a generous squeeze of lemon and toss with the pasta.

To serve, I took a large fork and twirled until I had a generous helping, which I then pushed off the fork into a small clear plastic wine glass. I topped this with chopped strawberries, whole blueberries (since the ones at the store were on the small side) and a sprig of fresh mint. A small cocktail fork was stuck upright in each cup.

I’m not sure I would have thought to combine pasta and fruit but it proved to be light, refreshing and was just the unique twist that I was looking for to mark this special occasion. Bon appétit!

About bistroonesix

I have an interest in all things food and am lucky enough to be surrounded by people that share this same passion. There’s never a shortage of inspiration or partners in collaboration. Some of my happiest memories involve big tables covered with food, plenty of wine, and extra chairs pulled up to accommodate all the friends and family. If I can help facilitate these kinds of evenings, well then I’d say this is a great hobby to have. I live in Boise, Idaho with my husband and 2 adorable cats.

One comment

  1. Pingback: it is national blueberry month afterall « bistro one six

Leave a Reply

