comfy with confit


Confit is one of those words that gets thrown around all the time but I was never quite sure what it meant although I was pretty sure a duck was almost always involved.

So I did what I always do when in doubt – I Googled it – and found out that confit merely means to preserve or enhance the flavor of a food by packing it a substance, usually salt, sugar or fat (mmmm….fat….). One of the results of the search took me to a blog that has now become one of my standards, The Bitten Word, and there was a recipe for lemon confit. That seemed like a much easier place to start getting comfy with confit than poultry.

For such a intimidating sounding word (ah the effects of French), this recipe was about as easy as it gets. Wash and quarter 6 lemons. Mix together 5 cups of kosher salt and 5 tablespoons sugar. Toss the lemons in the mixture and then layer the lemons in a quart size jar packing in the sugar-salt as you go. Poof! That’s it. Store in the fridge for at least 2 weeks (although mine have been in there 6 months now and are still perfectly preserved). To use, rinse and use the peel only. Find the complete recipe from Food & Wine here.

Then the key is not forgetting you have it in your fridge! It is easy to work into so many things – mix it in with butter and baste on fish, add to vinaigrettes or sauté with green beans finishing the dish with a big squeeze of fresh lemon juice and some toasted almonds. I look forward to experimenting with confits more – maybe oranges or limes next time. Baby steps.

About bistroonesix

I have an interest in all things food and am lucky enough to be surrounded by people that share this same passion. There’s never a shortage of inspiration or partners in collaboration. Some of my happiest memories involve big tables covered with food, plenty of wine, and extra chairs pulled up to accommodate all the friends and family. If I can help facilitate these kinds of evenings, well then I’d say this is a great hobby to have. I live in Boise, Idaho with my husband and 2 adorable cats.

2 comments

  1. Jim Hall

    This looks like its worth a try…

  2. Pingback: when a friend hands you lemons | bistro one six

Leave a Reply

